Jacket material

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Jacket material

Post by Sasquatch-1 on Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:33 am

Opinions on brass vs aluminum cases for jackets?
Sasquatch-1

Back to top Go down

Re: Jacket material

Post by Reload3006 on Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:43 am

I already answered that question aint doin it again LOL
if annealed it will draw properly. There has been a lot of talk about people trying it. James at ammosmith has used stinger aluminum cases for jackets. Obviously its softer than steel so its not going to blow up your barrel or ring it. However Aluminum is known to oxidize easily. For some this is a concern as Aluminum Oxide is a common abrasive in sand paper. I dont know that I wold be that worried about it personally What would concern me more than anything is fouling what would get it out of your bore? Copper and Brass Ammonia bore cleaners remover that fouling fairly easily. What would get aluminum fouling out I haven't a clue. Being a machinist I know that when aluminum builds up on a cutting tool its all over and requires a trip to a grinder to remove it. I really dont want to grind on my bore LOL ... Maybe someone much smarter than I can answer that one.
Reload3006

Back to top Go down

Post by Sasquatch-1 on Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:59 am

Reload3006 wrote:I already answered that question aint doin it again LOL