One for the swagers out there.

View previous topic View next topic Go down

One for the swagers out there.

Post by Sasquatch-1 on Mon Jul 09, 2012 2:55 pm

I made up some slugs out of forty brass today. Decided to pickle 'em in the crock pot in citric acid. Let 'em go for about an hour pulled them out and into the vibratory tumbler they went. When I took them out a couple hours later they look like they are made of copper. Now is this caused by something that came out of the brass that reduced it back to a copper state or did they just plate themselves somehow? If plated, I always thought you needed electrical current for that. I have used the solution several times. Question
Sasquatch-1

Back to top Go down

Re: One for the swagers out there.

Post by Reload3006 on Mon Jul 09, 2012 3:04 pm

that is common for brass to appear copper washed when they come out of the citric acid bath. .... My degree is not in chemistry. Not entirely sure why but I know its common and doesn't hurt anything.
Reload3006

Back to top Go down

Post by Reload3006 on Mon Jul 09, 2012 3:06 pm

Dont know if this is correct or not but looks reasonable.

The pink color is due to dezincification of the surface brass during the corrosion process. The
zinc (30% of cartridge brass) is more easily converted to oxide and removed during corrosion,
especially out of doors when wet. When you reverse the oxidation process with citric acid,
the copper oxide (the dark brown extreme brass tarnish is pretty much straight copper oxide)
reverts to pure copper, which is pinkish since the zinc is gone. For low pressure brass like
9mm and moderate amounts of dezincification, especially if it is uniform, I would not worry
about it. Rifle ammo with small areas of intense local corrosion may be problematic due to
the local nature and much higher working pressures. But if no significant material is missing,
it is probably nothing to sweat. I have no doubt that the brass that is pinkish was the very