Charter Arms rimless 9mm revolver. Any opinions?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Charter Arms rimless 9mm revolver. Any opinions?

Post by EdgarEg on Sun Aug 19, 2012 12:14 pm


Charter Arms has a 9mm revolver now. It does not require moon clips. Gotta be great for reloaders tired of chasing brass. It is on my wish list. I have seen and touched Charter Arms revolvers at gun shows but I have never fired or owned one. Anybody got any opinions on it?
avatar
EdgarEg
Member
Member

Posts : 579
Join date : 2010-12-17

Back to top Go down

Re: Charter Arms rimless 9mm revolver. Any opinions?

Post by Sasquatch-1 on Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:51 am

I have been shooting a rimless 9mm revolver for decades. It's called a Ruger Blackhawk Convertable. Never thought much of Charter Arms for some reason. Never owned one so it is purely based on my own opinion
avatar
Sasquatch-1
Member
Member

Posts : 372
Join date : 2011-11-16
Age : 64
Location : Eastern Panhandle of WV

Back to top Go down

Re: Charter Arms rimless 9mm revolver. Any opinions?

Post by EdgarEg on Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:17 pm

Sasquatch-1 wrote:I have been shooting a rimless 9mm revolver for decades. It's called a Ruger Blackhawk Convertable.
So moon clips are not used to shoot 9mm in your Blackhawk?
avatar
EdgarEg
Member
Member

Posts : 579
Join date : 2010-12-17

Back to top Go down

Re: Charter Arms rimless 9mm revolver. Any opinions?

Post by Sasquatch-1 on Mon Aug 20, 2012 1:03 pm

EdgarEg wrote:
Sasquatch-1 wrote:I have been shooting a rimless 9mm revolver for decades. It's called a Ruger Blackhawk Convertable.
So moon clips are not used to shoot 9mm in your Blackhawk?

Nope, I have a second cylinder with the ridge to hold the 9mm in place. Quick change of the cylinder and ready to go. Gives me the option of 38 spl, 357 mag or 9mm.
avatar
Sasquatch-1
Member
Member

Posts : 372
Join date : 2011-11-16
Age : 64
Location : Eastern Panhandle of WV

Back to top Go down

Re: Charter Arms rimless 9mm revolver. Any opinions?

Post by Hughie on Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:09 pm

I have been looking at one of theses also in .40 cal got a price on the .40 $ 453.00 affraid thought that is kind of high but the dealer told me that wheel guns prices have gone out the roof. He also has one in a .38 the gun feels real good in my hand but havent shot one yet. Charter arms make one in a .44spcl they all seem to be well made and nice looking pistols.
avatar
Hughie
Member
Member

Posts : 210
Join date : 2011-01-23
Age : 55
Location : Va

Back to top Go down

Re: Charter Arms rimless 9mm revolver. Any opinions?

Post by EdgarEg on Mon Sep 03, 2012 10:46 am

And according to this it will also fire .380 ACP.

http://www.charterfirearms.com/products/CARR.html

I wonder if there are other rounds it can fire too?

avatar
EdgarEg
Member
Member

Posts : 579
Join date : 2010-12-17

Back to top Go down

Re: Charter Arms rimless 9mm revolver. Any opinions?

Post by EdgarEg on Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:28 pm

So based on how this Charter Arms 9mm revolver secures the cartridge would you say it headspaces on the mouth? Or does it headspace on the extractor groove?
avatar
EdgarEg
Member
Member

Posts : 579
Join date : 2010-12-17

Back to top Go down

Re: Charter Arms rimless 9mm revolver. Any opinions?

Post by EdgarEg on Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:20 am

This thing is no longer on my wishlist. Gander Mountain had it for $429 plus tax. So I asked to look at it and it wound up following me home.

Funny thing, when he went to ring it up the cash register said it cost $499 plus tax. But since the tag had $429 he sold it to me for that.

In the photo you can see the "specialized spring" part of the ejector.

avatar
EdgarEg
Member
Member

Posts : 579
Join date : 2010-12-17

Back to top Go down

Re: Charter Arms rimless 9mm revolver. Any opinions?

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum